A Portrait of Queer Life in Brighton England!

I’m so excited to announce that Embodiment will be going international!  I have been commissioned by Martin Parr, the well-known British documentary photographer, collector and curator, to create a portrait of Brighton’s thriving queer community for exhibition at this years Photo Biennial in October.  I will be staying there (along with American photographer Zoe Strauss) Aug 3rd – 9th to photograph the Pride festivities!  Needless to say, I am brushing up on Brighton’s history, looking for interesting subjects, mapping out all the beaches and trying to get a sense of what it means to be Queer & British today.  I’ve seen so many black and white photos and illustrations of old beach scenes that I really want to carry this vintage seaside, carnival feeling into the work.  People of Brighton, am I way off base?  Please write to me with any words of wisdom and help me shape this portrait of your city!   – Molly Landreth

I love this illustration!  See where it came from, visit the website Brighton Our Story.

3 responses to “A Portrait of Queer Life in Brighton England!

  1. Wow ! That’s awesome !
    I love Martin Parr. It’s so great he commissioned you !!
    Just sayin’ wow, congrats and good luck, and thank you for the great work you do.

    Carimo

  2. Hey! I googled your name from a flyer you gave to me and my friend (you took a photo of us at Pride in Preston Park next to a trash can =P)
    I hope you had a great time in Brighton, and managed to capture what you were looking for. Hopefully I’ll see your work at your exhibition soon, looking forward to it!
    Sabah

Leave a Reply

